Wikipad – Tablets and Gaming Consoles: Watch your ass

all rights to owner

The Wikipad looks promising. No, there aren’t any ties with Wikipedia – which is what I thought at first – but, rest assured, it has Internet for those times when quickly gathering sources for that research paper due in 12 hours becomes critical.

The Wikipad runs Android Jellybean 4.1, sports the Nvidia Tegra 3 chipset, has 1GB of RAM and 16GB of storage, its resolution is 1280×800 and (if it actually had vocal cords) screams “Play games on me!” Considering the gaming controls on either side of its 7 inch screen, it would imaginably be a waste of $250 (or thereabouts) to not use it for gaming. Unless, of course, spending $250 just to coat it in smudgy fingerprints were your original intentions all along.

Kotaku essentially did all my homework for me and posted a lovely chart from Wikipad specs (which I now know originated from Wikipad’s offical specs page):

all rights to owner

Wikipad Specs

I like chart.

The Wikipad comes with a touchscreen keyboard, camera and GPS. It’s browser is Google Chrome and the GPS is Google Maps, which clearly means that this company is inherently recruiting more to the Google master-race from the get-go. It will not have IE drones or risk losing people with Apple Maps. Thanks, Wikipad.

Considering I wasn’t heavily on the tech scene before the start of this year, I’m going to have to attribute everything I’m about to say to other sources.

In September of last year, the Wikipad was going to be a 10 inch, $500 tablet. That apparently was not about to fly with consumers and the controller didn’t really operate well. The Wikipad company went silent and news about the “return of Wikipad” exploded Feb. 7. Although the price has been sliced, the internals have stayed the same. How? Smaller is cheaper and they took out the rear-facing camera. Science! – no, wait – Technology!

C|Net, one of the sites I peruse to find tech dirt, hasn’t posted anything new about the Wikipad but its old posts are good for some Wikipad history. The company delayed the Wikipad because (via a press release) there became “a last-minute opportunity to enhance the Wikipad bundle as well as a minor refinement needed to ensure our first customers are completely satisfied with the Wikipad.” For now, I’m going to close the site because I can’t yell at them for not writing about the new release without having to join them to my Facebook.

The game controls are detachable, says Wired‘s post on the matter and the company apparently skipped CES all together.

Personally, I think this device could take on the Nvidia Shield and Razer Edge in a cage match. It looks more like a tablet than the Shield and still has agreeable controls, it doesn’t try to get crazy like the Edge, it’s aesthetically pleasing and quite cheap. What needs to happen next is a physical evaluation on it’s actual game play experience. When I look at how high the controls are, I’m not entirely sure that would be comfortable. I’m thinking about the overall weight distribution and how I’ll have to position my arms to hold it. I’m a Gameboy Advanced girl and those controls were on either side of the screen. That design has always seemed most logical to me.

Oh, and no one tech site has come to a consensus on the price. Some say $249, others $250 and one said $253.

What do you think reader? What gives the Wikipad a leg up? Or a leg… down (I suppose that would be the opposite saying)?

Leave a Reply

